How ‘Bout That Bird

the-bird

Wow!  Look at that turkey!  As you saw in my last post, the results may not have been so great if it were not for sweet Jane at the Butterball Turkey Hotline.  This was THE BEST turkey I have ever eaten.  Seriously.  It was cooked perfectly and was juicy and delicious.  And check out the presentation. . . I even added fresh cranberries because they were so pretty on my silver platter.  I also made homemade gravy from the turkey drippings.  It was my grandmother’s recipe and it was to die for!  My dad couldn’t believe it when he tried the gravy.  He was pretty impressed with my turkey and gravy.  I was proud of it.  I wish my mom and my grandmothers could have been here to see it and taste it.  The culinary skills I have come from years of watching them and helping them in the kitchen.  Great legacy to pass along. . .

My friend, Bridget, made me this gorgeous arrangement for my new dining room table.  She is so talented and I am so grateful for her willingness to help make my table beautiful.

flower-arrangementAnd here is my table all set for the Thanksgiving meal.  I decided to serve the food buffet style in the kitchen since I still don’t have a table pad for all the hot stuff.

table-settingWe had a wonderful lunch.  A few of our guests had to cancel at the last minute, so it was just us and my dad and Karen.  We had a great time eating and talking together.  Noni played Barbies with Ava Jane while Addison helped to clear the table and help daddy with dishes.  My dad made his famous “dressing” and we all enjoyed being together and thanking God for the many ways he has blessed our family.  Here is my sweet pilgrim girl and a special “Thankful” list she made at school this week.

pilgrim-acl-with-letteracl-is-thankful-for

And here is what I am most thankful for in this world – my wonderful husband and two precious girls.

familyI hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday.  Now we are off to see more family and eat more turkey!

6 Responses to “How ‘Bout That Bird”

  1. Missy Says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Amy and family! You have so much to be thankful for. I am glad you all had a special day. The turkey looks perfect….Go Amy and Jane : )

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Gorgeous Turkey!!!! I’m so glad it turned out so beautiful. You’re quite the chef. And, your table looked amazing! We have a lot to be thankful for. Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. HOPE CHISM Says:

    Wow…that turkey is awesome! I thought that was seriously a picture out of a cooking magazine! I love the ‘presentation’ of it…very nice…glad you had a great holiday!

  4. Carinda Says:

    Gorgeous turkey! I love the table arrangement as well – she is very talented.

  5. Susan Says:

    Beautiful!! Turkey, table, and your family pic!! Glad you had a good Thanksgiving.

  6. montee Says:

    That turkey is straight out of a Norman Rockwell painting!

Leave a Reply

