Let’s Talk Turkey

Okay. . . so I called the Butterball Turkey Hotline today to ask a few questions.  I noticed that my 21 lb turkey (don’t ask me why I got such a big turkey) doesn’t seem to be very thawed out even though it has been in the fridge since Saturday.  So, I called to check on what to do.  Here is all I learned from JANE from Butterball:

1.  A 21 pound turkey can take 5-6 days to thaw in the fridge.  Don’t know where I got “3 days to thaw”!

2.  Now I will need to put my turkey in a clean sink of cold tap water and change the water every thirty minutes.  I need to do this for 6-7 hours tomorrow.  No problem.  Like I really have 7 hours to hang around my kitchen sink.  But a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, huh?

3.  I was planning on “brining” my turkey.  I already bought lots of herbs and spices and a special bag to “brine” the bird in.  JANE let me know that brining is not good for frozen turkeys.  They have already been injected with flavor and salt.  If I brine my turkey it will be WAY too salty.  Good to know.

4.  I was told to cook my bird for 20 minutes per pound, which would equal about 7 hours for me.  I was planning to get up at 4:30 a.m. on Thursday to tie up my Tom Turkey and get him in the oven.  JANE informed me that it would take 3 1/2 to 4 hours for the bird to cook.  Seriously??  Good thing I called and talked to JANE.

5.  I planned to cover the turkey with foil except for the last 45 minutes of cooking to get it brown.  JANE informed me that I should cook the bird UNCOVERED for the first 2/3 cooking time and then lightly cover the breast with foil during the last 1/3 cooking time.  Also good to know.

This Thanksgiving, I am thankful for JANE at the Butterball Turkey Hotline.  She saved me from crying many tears this Thursday.  I can invision it now. . . my first turkey. . . still partially frozen. . . I brine it and it is so salty your lips pucker. . . not to mention that it is waaaayyyy overcooked from seven hours in my oven. . . and it is barely brown because I covered it during most of it’s cooking time.  I mean seriously!  I am about ready to chuck the bird and call Honeybaked Ham for an already cooked tasty turkey breast.  I’ll let you know how it goes!!!

7 Responses to “Let’s Talk Turkey”

  1. Mandy LeMay Says:

    Get some reynolds oven bags- they make all the difference in the world! Also, if you put an apple in the cavity, it helps keep the bird moist during cooking. If it is too dry after baking, get you some chicken broth to baste your meat with- it works beautifully. Good luck girl! Let us know how it comes out!
    Happy Thanksgiving! XOXOXO
    Mandy

  2. melanieseaver Says:

    This post stresses me out! I’m sooo glad I don’t have to cook a turkey.

  3. Rachel Says:

    I can’t wait to read the update. Good luck! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. julie Says:

    now i’m thankful for JANE!!! i forgot to take out my turkey so now i’m hoping i too can spend time at my sink to rotate the cold water. thanks for sharing your knowledge!

  5. Susan Says:

    Wow Amy! Thanks for all of the Turkey tips. I have to say that I’ve never cooked a turkey. I didn’t even know Butterball had a Turkey hotline! I hope it turns out fabulous! Happy Thanksgiving.

  6. Ashley Says:

    That’s awesome! I’m going with the browning bag…it cooks it right every time! 🙂

  7. Saundra Says:

    Great looking bird! Me, I got carryout from Cracker Barrel 🙂

    We are going to Tim’s sister’s house on Saturday & her husband usually deep fries the turkey. Yum yum.

    Your new dining room table looks great too!

Leave a Reply

