Voting Day Funny

Addison came home from school yesterday and was telling me about her day as I looked through her folder.  I saw a little “voter registration card” that they filled out with their name, teacher’s name, etc.  I asked her what it was for.  She said, “Well, mom. . . today we got to vote for president.”  Okay, so I had NO idea that they were doing their own mock election. . . we haven’t been talking much politics with our children (as you know from my previous post and Ava Jane’s vote for the cool chick in line).  So I cautiously ask her who she voted for.  Her response:  “Arock Arama!”  Oh for the love!!!!!!!!  I gasp and choke and manage to say to her, “Honey, why did you vote for him?”  I think she can tell I am a little uneasy about it and she puts her head down and says “I don’t know.  I mean, lots of the kids were voting for him.”  I assure her that all is well because her vote doesn’t really count anyway.  HAHAHA!  Just kidding.  I didn’t tell her that.  I just gently told her that we voted for McCain, NOT Arock Arama.  But I did tell her that it sure did sound like a cool name that man had.  🙂

And then this morning when I turned on the news, she said, “Mom, there is that man I voted for.”  And sure enough, peeps, it was Arock Arama.  I shudder to think of the number of Americans, who like my 5 year old, will be voting for Arock Arama because they think everyone else is voting for him.  Just another reminder that God is on His throne and will remain there regardless of who wins and who loses today.  Praise the Lord for that.   Just thought you could use a smile on this historic day in our nation.

“For all authority comes from God, and those in positions of authority have been placed there by God.” Romans 13:1

7 Responses to “Voting Day Funny”

  1. Susan Says:

    Amen!

  2. Heather Says:

    Great verse!!! I may put that one on my blog!!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    Mary Grace voted too. Paul had already drilled her that we are voting for McCain. She came home Monday and said she voted for McCain but she thought “Obamo” won in her class.

  4. Ellen Says:

    well, looks like her vote was the deciding factor! Ha! (it is fun to say the name…Abby calls him Rock O-Rama. Sounds like a heavy metal group or something.) And thanks for your comment on my blog. I had to laugh, though, cause I messed up my counting and there were 2 #7’s. Oh well, i figured which one you meant. =) Take Care!

  5. Christy Butler Says:

    Girl! My kindergartender did the exact same thing. When he told us he voted for Barack, we all gasped! Even Jake (my 3rd grader). Josh had no no clue and it cracked us all up! You are so right. Many who voted for Obama are misinformed and have no clue what they just did. Love the verse. God is in control!

  6. montee Says:

    Yep, I think there are a lot of sheep in this country. Thankgoodness my Shepherd is Jesus Christ, not Arack Arama.

  7. lafrost08 Says:

    Hey Amy. I really enjoyed visiting with you yesterday. You are so much like my High School Best friend. She was so funny…I always come away from being with her revived and ready to face life with a smile. lets get our kiddos together sometime. I would love to do lunch!
    Laura

Leave a Reply

