Weekend Update

The weekends are getting busier around our house now that Fall is officially here.  I spent Friday night with some dear friends. . . dinner and lots of good chat time.  We stayed up late and watched P.S. I Love You. . . which I boo-hoo’ed all the way through. . . even though I just saw it a couple of months ago.  I didn’t get much sleep because I had to get up very early on Saturday morning to work at a 5K race here in town.  The Sumner County Anti-Drug Coalition had it’s first annual 5K Memorial Run/Walk to remember those whose lives were lost because of drugs/alcohol.  It was a great turn-out for this first time event.  Our Just Say No Organization had a booth selling drinks and Chic-fil-A Chicken biscuits (yum)!  We also had a Rap Competition between students from different schools.  There were other booths set up too.  It was coooold outside, but so much fun!  Rick brought the girls out and they played on the jumpy slide, ate lots of food, won some prizes for playing games and jumped on the bouncy slide some more.  🙂  They had a great time.

I made it home before noon and wanted to crash.  But, the girls really wanted to see High School Musical 3. . . so, like a good mother (who also wanted to see the much anticipated song and dance) we went!  We skipped lunch altogether since they filled up on food at the race.  We stopped at Walgreens and bought movie candy. . . so much fun for them.  Then we made it to the 1:00 matinee and only had to pay $16.50 for all three of us!   I was thrilled that it was so cheap (for the movies).  Then we bought one popcorn and one big drink – with free refills on both.  We all ate waaaay too much junk at that movie. . . but then again, we never go to the movies, so this was a treat for us!  The movie was really good.  A little long for the kids. . . but very clean and GREAT songs and dance moves!  There were some mushy gushy looks and dances between Troy and Gabriella. . . and one kiss on the lips. . . which Ava Jane giggled at.  But all in all, it was a great movie.

Saturday night we had Chili’s take out and watched UT play terrible football in front of a nice toasty fire.  I LOVE our fireplace.  It is woodburning and although that can be messy, the smell and sounds are wonderful.  It reminded me of being at my grandparents house as a little girl.  Always loving the fire in the fireplace.  And Rick has built one several nights the past week since it has been getting so much cooler outside.  That is one of the many things I love about this house.  I went to bed before the game was even over because I was so exhausted.  And slept for 9 hours!!!  Loved that!

Sunday was church. . . after worship I served in TreeHollow (worship for our preschoolers).  We sang some great songs and then it was my Sunday to tell the Bible Story.  About midway through the story a little boy yells out, “You forgot part of the story. . . some of the people didn’t like listening to Paul teach about Jesus.”  I was trying to hold back my laughter as this three year old corrected my story telling skills.  By that time, I totally lost where I was and began to wrap up the story and end with a prayer.  Little ones are just too cute.  And I really like being able to worship with them on Sundays.  After church we ran to the grocery for a few things.  Then home for lunch, naptime and one more grocery trip. . . for the things on sale at another store.  My the things we do to live on a budget!

We grilled hamburgers for dinner and I also made our dinner for tonight (chicken tetrazini).  Delicio-so!!  We watched our favorite family show. . . Extreme Home Makeover.  Bedtime followed for the kiddos and then I started planning the Harvest Party for Addison’s class on Friday.  Whew!  A mom’s work never ends. . . and so here we are at the start of a new week.  This is Red Ribbon Week for drug/alcohol prevention throughout the county (and one of my big weeks of the year with my job as Just Say No Coordinator).  Every school does dress up days this week.  And guess what?  I TOTALLY forgot that it was pajama day (“Don’t get caught napping. . . Say NO to drugs”) at Addison’s school.  When I went to pick up the little girl we carpool with she was in her pjs.  I was sooooo sad.  Addison had no idea until her friend told her.  She asked if she would be the ONLY one NOT in pajamas.  I apologized many times in the car and assured her that other kids would be dressed in regular clothes. . . and she seemed okay when I told her we had other dress up days this week.  But pajama day is the BEST dress up day in my opinion!  And I forgot!  I hope she isn’t scarred for long. . . and I hope that no one wondered why the coordinator’s own child wasn’t participating in the events for the week.  I guess I’ll try to redeem myself tomorrow. . . but how exciting is it to wear sunglasses to school?  I’ll make it seem GREAT.

Anywho. . . that was our weekend. . . nothing great. . . but busier than usual.  I hope that the five people who read this will have a great week!

6 Responses to “Weekend Update”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    I forgot about pj day too a few weeks ago. It’s okay. Sometimes we just have to let the guilt go. Hey, and you forgot to mention how big a hit your hair was at church. 🙂

  2. Ashley Says:

    So how was HSM3? I think I’m more excited to see it than Adeline! 🙂

  3. Susan Says:

    I love reading your weekend wrap ups! What a fun weekend!

  4. Heather Says:

    I Guarantee you more than 5 people read this blog!!! 🙂 I love reading these posts too!!

  5. missy Says:

    Amy, I love how busy you keep yourself! I wish I had the time to spend such amazing quality time with my sweet family, like you do. You are so blessed! Sounds like an amazing weekend. Thanks for the HSM 3 review…I will be taking Paige this weekend. She loves Troy Bolton (can you believe she is old enough to dig guys???) Enjoy your warm and cozy fires…they are the best.

    I am sure that there are many more people that read your blog…you are a great writer.
    Hugs!

  6. Lu Anne Tilson Says:

    How fun to remember Red Ribbon Week! I would love to see everyone again!

Leave a Reply

