Punkyum Fun

Yes, you read the title correctly.  In our house, Ava Jane has progressed from calling pumpkins “punkums” to “punk-yums.”  And the truth is that it is just to cute to correct.  Addison even has a hard time remembering the correct pronunciation thanks to Ava Jane.  Anyway, Addison is out of school on fall break and we have had such a good time (the girls and I) the past two days.  We’ve visited the new library, had lunch out, had friends over to play, had a picnic and played at the park, and this afternoon was the best. . . we painted pumpkins!  The girls each picked out a pumpkin and so did I.  I also bought three little ones just for extra fun.  We headed to Walmart for some new colors of paint and paintbrushes.  While we were there, we picked up lots of junk food to make some fun fall treats (caramel apples, cookies to ice and decorate and brownies to make and share with neighbors).  Then it was home to set up shop.

We pulled out our big table in the garage.  Then covered it with newspaper and pulled out all the paintbrushes, paints, paper towels, etc.  Each of us had our own spot to create our masterpiece.  Ava Jane could not wait to get started.  She just likes to make a mess.  And Addison was equally thrilled because she is really into anything art related.  She took her time designing her pumpkins and was quite proud of her work.  Here are some pictures of them working.

Addison with a “clean canvas” just waiting to get started.

Ava Jane is ready to go!

Addison hard at work – and check out that headband on her head. . . now that is what I call true artistic confidence.

Addison thought it was so cool to use a palette to paint from instead of my paper plates.

Ava Jane loves the color yellow because it is her daddy’s favorite color.  And look at that bumpy little pumpkin.  Poor thing. . . looks like it is covered in pumpkin warts – and Ava Jane actually picked this out of all the pumpkins!!

And these are my little creation.  Fancy huh?  I kinda like them, so I am putting them on my front porch!  My kids didn’t understand why I only used black paint. . . but they liked the polka dots and stripes too.    And this is really bad, but I was so excited about my end result that I forgot to take pictures of the girls finished pumpkins.  What kind of mother am I?

And speaking of pumpkins. . . my friend Bridget made this incredible pumpkin for me as a house warming gift. 

Isn’t that the cutest thing ever?  It will last me until around Thanksgiving.  And it is made with all my favorite fall colors!  She is amazing and so is her work.  Thanks, Bridget, for such a great gift.

So, as you can see, we have had a fun few days with NO school and getting up without having to go somewhere right away.  So nice.  And on a completely different note. . .

Many of you know that my step-mom, Karen Robinson, fell on Monday night and broke her hip.  Crazy freak thing and she is WAAAAYYY to young to have a broken hip.  But, she fell right on it and the socket broke into several pieces.  She just had her surgery yesterday (Thursday) and is recovering and doing well.  I think the pain has been pretty intense, but she is tough.  She will be in the hospital a few more days and then the real road to recovery begins.  It will be a long recoup time.  She cannot put ANY weight on that leg for 3 whole months.  Insane.  She will have to use a wheelchair for a short time, and some great friends went to dad’s house and built a ramp in the garage going up into the house (they have super steep steps).  So generous and kind of them and a HUGE help to dad and Karen.  So, thanks to those of you who knew about this and have been praying for her.  Continue to pray for her speedy recovery.  I can’t imagine being “down” for that length of time. . . and she is quite the go-getter like I am!

Well, time for folding mounds and mounds of laundry.  I can’t procrastinate anymore.  I keep thinking it will fold itself, but the baskets just keep filling up and sitting there.  And we are all tired of digging through the clean clothes to find something to wear.  But, playing for the past two days has been priceless and I’d choose that over laundry any day!

4 Responses to “Punkyum Fun”

  1. Missy Says:

    You are such a good mommy, Amy! It looks like you and your precious girls have been having some incredible Fall fun! I am truly impressed with your pumpkins…makes me want to make my own funky creations!

    Have a great break with the girls : )

  2. montee Says:

    What pretty pumpkins! I have been painting pumpkins for years. I think my neighbors thought I was goofy, but nowadays more people are doing it. I have added a little glitter too. It is still a bit warm here in TX but next week I plan on buying some pumpkins and mums. Can’t wait!

  3. jamieblackwell Says:

    I LOVE the painted pumpkins. Too cute…look at how creative you are! I’m sure the girls pumpkins were cute too. My kids can’t wait to paint their pumpkins…maybe tomorrow.
    Glad ya’ll had fun, motivates me.

  4. Aly Says:

    Amy, I love your pumpkins! They are so chic!

Leave a Reply

