My New Dining Room

I know, I know. . . two posts in one day and I haven’t blogged in two weeks.  But this morning the delivery men brought my new dining room furniture that I have been waiting for!  Oh and I just love it.  Especially with the green walls.  The room will be gorgeous with some window treatments and a few things on the wall.  Here are a couple of pictures. . .

Can’t you just picture my china in the cabinet?  Well, maybe not. . . but I sure can.  It is in pristine condition since IT HAS NEVER BEEN USED and we have been married for ten years.  It still has the price stickers on the bottom of each piece.  And some of my crystal is still in the Castner Knott boxes (for those of you who remember that wonderful department store).  And I know what you are thinking. . . she has two little kids and white upholstered seats – she must be crazy!  Well, not so much.  I didn’t have a choice in the fabric (which is actually cream) but loved the furniture.  And I my expectations are that the seats will be stained – probably by me first.  🙂  And one day we can recover them.  But it is just furniture and this is real life. . . I want to use it and enjoy it and not worry and obsess about it looking perfect.  I like my house to feel warm and comfy and most of all “lived in.”

Thanks to my wonderful husband for buying this for me!  I know how much he really wants a big flat tv thingy, but he put my desires first.  What a man!!  I love you, babe!

Now, I have a couple of questions. . .

1)  Do you use one of those big pad things, that covers your table, when you eat on it?  Or do you use a table cloth?  Both?

2)  Or do you use place-mats?  Or just chargers?

I have never had a dining room, so I need some help here!!  I am giddy with excitement.  Can you tell?  Two exciting things in one day. . . my new furniture and talking about Disney (see previous post).  So, leave me some comments and help me know how to eat on this table!  Ciao!

11 Responses to “My New Dining Room”

  1. saundra1 Says:

    OOOOHHHH very pretty! I love the paint color! We have a dining room table that is as old as I can remember. It belonged to a family friend & I remember making a tent under it as a little girl. Anyway, it does not tolerate heat or liquids, so I use a pad with a table cloth when we are eating in there. I don’t use place mats or chargers, just wash the table cloth. I suppose if I ever had a remotely fancy event, which will never happen in our house, I might use both!

  2. Christine Says:

    Amy – I came across your blog from a friends friend, so I do not know you. However, this is a subject I am all to familiar with. We inherited and antique dining set and our house is over 100 years old and does not have an eat in kitchen. Needless to say, we use the set daily. If your table came with a pad use it under the tablecloth if you are going to have hot items on it. I have searched endlessly to buy a table pad and the prices could be considered highway robbery – I think they are manufactured by the same people that charge large amounts of money for mattresses. If you use a runner or tablecloth without a pad, be extremely careful about anything hot or wet, once the table is marked it is very pricey to fix.
    I also put dishtowels on the upholstered seats when my children sit on them. Yes, it looks tacky however there are no stains. Hope this helps and you do not mind me just jumping in on your blog.

  3. Susan Says:

    I am so excited for you Amy! And I love the dining room set you chose!! I could give you a run for your money on how long your china remains in pristine condition. 🙂 We’ve been married for 13 years and mine is still shrinkwrapped in the box it came from Dilliards in. LOL!! 🙂
    I love the dining set!! And your walls!

  4. Lisa Thomas Says:

    SO pretty!!! And, you can buy stuff at the fabric store that is designed to use under a table cloth. It is vinyl on the top and somewhat padded underneath and you can cut it to fit your table — piece it together if needed. It protects the table and is MUCH cheaper than the custom-made pads. (You might still need a trivet for hot dishes, though.) OR you can use placemats. You can use chargers with placemats or a table cloth. Or you can throw an old quilt on there — you can do whatever you want! That’s what makes it fun. Just think of all the dear memories that will be made around that table — so many celebrations. I’m happy for you!

  5. jamieblackwell Says:

    Yay! you got your furniture. I know that you are sooo excited and I’m sure you want to go in the front door, instead of the garage, every time you get home. I cant wait to see it in person.

  6. montee Says:

    Beautiful furniture and I really like the green walls! I usually just use chargers.

  7. Heather Says:

    Amy, I LOVE the green walls!! The furniture is great!! I would love to see pictures of the rest of your house!!

  8. Scotti Harris Says:

    I think I’ve got you beat… my 20th anniversary is in 2 weeks and we’ve NEVER used our china. I also have glassware and china in Castner Knott boxes. I finally broke out the silver when Lee moved to Asheville and I sent the flatware with him. Use the china, use the dining room, don’t freak out over spills on the cream seats because that is how memories are made. Now that I am an empty nester, I wish so much that I hadn’t been so worried about breaking something…it really didn’t matter. You are so level headed about all that stuff!
    BTW God is good and our friend’s heart is protected by Him. Thanks for calling me!

  9. Missy Says:

    Amy,

    I just love your new dining room set! We just got new furniture and I tell ya, it is just so exciting.

    So, do you have your china in the cabinet yet???

  10. Amy Lafayette Says:

    Thanks for all the kind comments. I do love the furniture. I unpacked the china and put it in the china cabinet. . . but it’s not “set up” just yet. I’m not sure how to do all that and I need a few easels to put plates up on.

    I bought a couple of chargers to try out and a table cloth, just to see what I like. Can’t make up my mind though. Any other suggestions are welcome!

  11. Danielle Carpenter Says:

    Oooh! I love the new furniture. I thought that OLD Time Pottery had little easels. I will ask my mom. Maybe look at the dollar stores. I can’t wait to see your new stuff in person. Hey I am having a Essential party on Nov 6, you will have to come. See ya!

Leave a Reply

