GREAT First Day of Kindergarten

Praise the Lord!  Addison had a FABULOUS first day at kindergarten!  You don’t know how relieved this mamma’s heart is.  I have prayed for a long time about this day for her. . . specifically that she would like it and would not cry or meltdown or cling to me.  And God answered everything as specifically as I prayed for it!  I am so grateful for that today!

Here she is as we were getting ready to go.

That sweet face wasn’t one bit nervous or scared.  Hallelujah!  She prayed specifically that she would not be scared. . . and she has been praying that all week long.  She was so happy all morning and almost a little “giddy” – which isn’t really like Addison.  When we got to school and started walking up the sidewalk, she saw her friend Bradley that was in her class at preschool last year.  That was a relief for her to at least know one person.  Here she is with Bradley before they went inside.

When we got inside, we found Addison’s name on a list in the K hallway.  She was going to Mrs. Moss’ classroom.  (I know Mrs. Moss and was thrilled that she was with her in some way today.)  There were three teachers with Addison’s group of students.  Addison promptly began to kiss me and tell me goodbye at the door.  I told her that I was going to go in the classroom today.  I could hardly believe that she was ready to see me go.  But oh, so grateful that this was her reaction instead of clinging and crying.  She did not cry once.  Ms. Talbot came over and said hello and gave her a name tag.  Addison got her lunch money out of her backpack (the only thing that was in there today) and gave it to the teacher.  She was REALLY excited that she was buying her lunch.  She asked me a million questions about it last night and this morning.  It was so cute.  It was apparent that my time was done, so I hugged her, kissed her and watched her give Ava Jane a hug.  I told her I loved her and to have a great day and walked out of the room.

Oh, my heart.  I was ready to burst into tears. . . But she was so happy and that made me the happiest mommy ever!  Just what I wanted for her. . . and so I went about my morning NOT worried about her and telling God “thank you” over and over again.

I snapped this pic from the car as her class came outside.

As soon as she saw me she had a smile that could warm anyone’s heart.  Here she is just beaming as soon as she got in the car.

And finally, I decided to video her telling me about her day (for her daddy).  Here is what she told me about.

So, thanks to those of you who have been praying for my sweet girl and for me.  We have felt the prayers.  I think the best part has been that Addison is beginning to understand the concept of trusting God.  She wants to pray all the time and she tells God how she feels and prays for such specific things.  And it is so amazing when God answers her so specifically and we can help her tie it all together.  It is a totally different ballgame when our kids start understanding at a deeper level about who God is. . . what he has done. . . and what he can do in their lives.  I love it.

I’m sure we will need continued prayers. . . Addison goes back next Thursday and then everyday starting on the 25th.  That will be when this mommy needs LOTS OF PRAYER.

16 Responses to “GREAT First Day of Kindergarten”

  1. cobblestones Says:

    Sweet Addison!! I’m so thankful she had such a wonderful day. I couldn’t get the video to work though. I ‘ll have to come back and try again later. This post made tears well up for me!

  2. Amy Smithson Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing her first day with us!! What a blessing and answer to prayer that that she enjoyed EACH and EVERY part of her day!! It’s so awesome to see their understanding of the trust each of us should/do have in HIM in each and every situation!! We will continue to pray for Miss Addison…they are all growing up so quickly!!

  3. Katie Says:

    Ok, soooo cute. I totally cried! Aunt Kate is just so proud. :o) Since I don’t have any children yet I will just dote over you and Suz’s kids! That video was so cute and absolutely priceless. I am so glad you made it. Looks like you are pulling a Steve-0 there Ames??? JK Just keep the video camera hidden once she gets in middle school! Ha-ha. My favorite part of the video is when, at the very end, she talked about how God was going to pick out who her teacher would be. I know you had just said that, but to hear her say it with such assurance just made my heart bubble over. I know you are so proud of her. I’m praying for you sister and I love the sweet girls you and Rick have raised. Kiss those little girls cheeks for me and tell them their Aunt Kate & Uncle Taylor love their socks off!

  4. Ashley Says:

    Oh, I’ve been praying for you! So glad it went so well. At least she looks GORGEOUS! 🙂 Praise the Lord for a sweet spirit and a sweet day…

  5. Susan Says:

    Yeah!! So glad that she had an awesome first day!!

  6. Kim Says:

    Wow!! What an answer to prayer! My heart has been heavy for little Addison — I was VERY nervous about kindergarten and remember my skiddishness vividly (what with my crazy kid-memory and all . . . ) SOOO glad to hear that God answered her precious prayers so specifically. He is so good. Thanks so much for sharing. And I’m with Katie . . . seems a bit “Steve-O-ish” to me, but I’ll cut you some slack what with the monumental day and all . . .

    By the way, if I may take a moment to comment on a previous post . . . you know, about the phone purse . . . it is SUPER cool. But I think your memory may have failed you on my purse array. Remeber my black patent CLOCK purse????? Hee hee. Someone PLEASE bring back the 80’s! Well, in my head, it’s never really gone . . .

  7. schellfamily Says:

    Yah! I am so proud of BOTH of you! Addison looks so grown up! And I am so glad that she was all smiles!

  8. Carolyn Says:

    I really enjoyed reading your experience and listening to Addison’s experience of her 1st day. I know I will have similar feelings this time next year when Kendall begins kindergarten. It’s great to hear that everything turned out so well.

  9. montee Says:

    I am glad both you and Addison had such a good first day. The school years go so fast. I remember when my Britnee started kindergarten and she was just like Addison on her first day. Now my little girl is a Sophomore at Baylor University. I remember she always wore the big bows in her hair too. No more bows.

  10. Julie Says:

    oh my gosh amy that is too cute! so glad that she had a fabulous first day!

  11. Becky Says:

    Ahhhh the first year of school. I remember how nervous I was for both Cameron and Carson. We are now on to year 4 and 2 of school. It gets easier……you should see the tire marks I left in the drop off line on Monday wooooo hoooo!!

  12. tracybrothers Says:

    I’m sooooooo happy! What an answer to prayer. The Lord has really brought her to mind so many times this past week. I have to say, that is like one of the biggest smiles I’ve ever seen from her. We’ll all keep praying. I think that’s the only way we’re going to get through these school years. Love ya’ll!

  13. jamieblackwell Says:

    Yay!! What an AWESOME day! Praise the Lord!! I seriously had to wipe away the tears. So cute! and she looked to cute with that huge bow, I was lovin’ that! I am so happy that today went so well. I still can’t believe she is in Kindergarten! Thanks for sharing.

  14. Mandy LeMay Says:

    How BIG Addison looks- I mean she grew up… off to kindergarten. I can’t believe it, but I am so thrilled both of your day was a great one. I only hope they get better and better. 🙂 God is so good and it is just precious that you have instilled in her that even praying for the right teacher is what we should do- He will be with us every step of the way if we ask! I am so proud for you all, this was a huge step I know!!! Also the video was tooooooo cute!

  15. Denise Hicks Says:

    Oh Amy….I am just a crying here….so sweet!! I am so glad everything went so well for Addison (and mommy). She is such a sweet girl!! I am happy for both of you…I know what a relief it is for you!!

  16. tracycornett Says:

    ok I am crying! Wow that was sweet!

Leave a Reply

