Head or Heart?

Ah!  I just enjoyed a great walk in the cool of the morning, then having a cup of coffee and reading God’s word ALL before my kids got up.  I need to start every day like this one.  I have lots to catch you up on since I have not blogged in some time (packing, moving, unpacking, and being without the internet for a few days can make ya miss out).  But I wanted to first share some reflections from God’s word.

I have been reading through my chronological Bible, obviously starting in the Old Testament.  I am just in Exodus.  But I am continually amazed at how everything in the Bible is relevant.  “Of course it is” you may say.  But haven’t you mostly studied the New Testament, or at least some of the more interesting books of the OT, like Psalms, Proverbs, Ruth, and Daniel?  Who would think Exodus would be exciting.  Yes, I know all of the Bible stories from my childhood days. . . but my relationship with God is so much better than it used to be. . . and especially since last June (’07).  And I have learned so much and become so much more  hungry for his word in the past 15 months.  Now, you probably know what I am about to tell you, but since this fact has been brought to my attention, I have found it to be very true:  Everything in the Bible points to Jesus. Yes, EVERYTHING. . . in some way points to our need for a Saviour.  I never read the OT that way. . . and now that I am, I can see it everywhere. . . even in Exodus. . . especially in Exodus. . . I mean, it is one of the five books of the Law for goodness sake.

Here is what I discovered today.  God has totally lead the Israelites out of Egypt. . . through the desert and has already performed countless miracles.  He parted the Red Sea and then closed it again killing the Egyptians.  He gave them a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night to lead them.  He provided manna and quail to satisfy their hunger.  Then Moses disappears for a while (to meet with God on a mountaintop) and the people completely disregard what God has done for them and make a golden calf and begin to worship it.  All the while complaining that Moses has been gone too long. . . where is God anyway. . . (can I get a little cheese with that WHINE please??)  Enough already. . . and then it hit me –

I DO THE SAME THING!  I get stuck in a bad place and think God has left me for good.  Whining and complaining that God must not care enough for me.  Blah, blah blah!  And I totally disregard that I am where I am because HE LEAD ME HERE.  And I forget the countless ways that he has provided for me and met me and walked with me.  And I forget that he really does love me. . . so much that he sent Jesus to die on the cross for my sins.  So, this morning at my kitchen table in my new house, I confessed to God and told him how sorry I was for acting like the Israelites acted.  What a disgrace.  And then I continued to read in my Bible about the repercussions for their sin.  And the sacrifices they had to make for atonement.  And all the “hoops they had to jump through” so as not to be destroyed by God for their disobedience.  And then I saw it so clearly. . . the need for Jesus.  I don’t have to do all that.  Jesus did it for me.  And as I read several chapters full of specific directions for the sacrifices they had to make, I became even more thankful for the sacrifice of Jesus.

Now, I know that seems so elementary.  And it really is something I have known all my life.  But it has always been head knowledge.  Today I felt like that small lesson from Exodus became heart knowledge.  And how grateful I am for heart knowledge. . . that is what changes us. . . and makes us more like Jesus.  As my dad always says, “The 12 inches between your head and your heart is a long way.”  So many people just have a head knowledge of God and what is in the Bible, but not a real heart knowledge.  Until we KNOW him in our heart and have that personal relationship with him, it doesn’t mean anything.  Knowing about God doesn’t do so much for you.  Knowing God makes all the difference in the world.

Do you KNOW God?  Or is he someone you just know about?  He can change your life. . . but that change takes place in your heart. . . not your head.  If you know him, tell me your favorite story from the Bible that point to the need for Jesus.  I just love reading God’s word with a new hunger.

One Response to “Head or Heart?”

  1. Crying « Keepin’ It Real Says:

    […] their pain because he has experienced it himself. . . it really is true. I just had another head to heart experience. What I have known about God in my head has just found it’s way to my heart. If God hurts for […]

Leave a Reply

