Ouch!

Today we were swimming at a friend’s pool and the girls were playing with these cheap $1 water tubes that suck up the water and then you shoot it all out.  They LOVE them and it is a constant battle not to blast water directly at someone.  🙂  Well, Ava Jane was playing with one and Addison jumped in the pool just as Ava turned around with the tube in the air.  You guessed it – the pointy end jabbed her in the eye.  Jabbed doesn’t even do justice to what I witnessed.  I thought her eyeball had been gouged out of the socket.  She screamed and shrilled and I jumped in the water and snatched her right out.  I was screaming too.  She kept holding her eye and screaming and I couldn’t even get a good look at it.

Ava Jane was in her own little world just swimming away, oblivious that anything bad happened to Addison until I screamed at her to get out of the water.  We were the only ones at the home. . . and without another adult, I almost didn’t know what to do.  I did get it together and calm Addison down enough to remove her hand from her eye.  She couldn’t hardly open it and it was tearing like crazy.  We were dripping everywhere and I sent Ava Jane in the bathroom to dry off and change clothes.  I called the doctor and got us an appointment.  I wasn’t taking any chances on her eye.  She finally stopped crying after about 15 minutes and began to open the eye.  When I asked her if she could see, she replied, “Kinda.”  Oh my goodness.  Are you serious?  You can only “kinda” see???  But I reminded myself that she is 5 and I didn’t know what her definition of “kinda” really is!

We all got changed, cleaned up after ourselves and sat to watch a TV show while we waited to leave for the doctor.  When she was watching TV without complaining, I knew she would be fine.  I did call Rick and he met us at the doctor’s office.  It was fascinating because they put this drop in her eye and then turned out all the lights and turned on a special light that lit up her eye.  We looked through this weird contraption and could see scratches across her little eyeball.  I almost cried.  It just looked incredibly painful.  She has a corneal abrasion.  We are going back tomorrow afternoon (24 hours later) to have it checked again.  Please join us in praying that it has TOTALLY healed.  Our wonderful doctor told me not to worry and that we wouldn’t even do anything today.  I have heard that our eyes have a great ability to heal quickly.  I pray this is true.  The funny thing is that Addison has had several meltdowns this afternoon and tonight. . . with lots of tears.  I don’t know if the tears help her eyes, but I felt like God maybe whispered to me that the tears were for her benefit and not to get so bent out of shape about her meltdowns.  She has been playing hard and long the past two days without a nap.  What does a mom expect??  🙂  So, I listened to God and let it slide and just loved on her and prayed for her little eye.

Anyway. . . that was a lot of me jabbering about something so small. . . but I greatly covet any prayers we can get.  I almost feel guilty asking when so many people are suffering with far greater needs.  But my baby has a need and I will stand in the gap for her and pray that the scratches were washed away with all the tears she cried this afternoon and tonight.  And I will be sure to let you know how things turn out.  I think I am going to google “corneal abrasion” and see what it says. . . or maybe I will just trust God and go to bed.  Yep, that is what I am going to do.  Ta!

9 Responses to “Ouch!”

  1. saundra Says:

    I have heard that the cornea is the fastest healing part of our body. Our youngest girl poked her finger into our oldest girl’s eye earlier this year while horsing around. That was a similar scary experience, minus the wet bathing suits! We didn’t have an established eye doctor, but we were able to quickly get in at one down the street. They will definitely be our eye doctor of choice! Within a day or two, she was fine. Praying that your precious one’s eyes will also heal quickly.

  2. Susan Says:

    Oh Amy! How scary. You did so well not to totally freak out. I would hope I could hold myself together too if something like that happened and I was the only adult there with my two little ones.
    Praying for little Addison’s eye.

  3. Ashley Says:

    Yikes! I’m praying that it heals on it’s own and you guys don’t have to do anything else.

  4. Laura Says:

    Blessings…..praying it is healed already.

  5. Karen Says:

    Poor baby!!! I pray it heals quickly!

  6. Mandy LeMay Says:

    Praying Addison can see clearly! Thankful you could see so clearly on such a scary incident!

  7. Renee Garcia Says:

    Ouch! Anything with the eye is scary! Good job on remaining calm and handling the situation… I’ve been there and it’s hard when you’re the only adult around! We are definitely praying that her eye is completely healed by today’s check up. Keep us posted!
    Renee

  8. Jennifer Says:

    I will be praying for Addison and for you! Please update us when you get news from the doctor!
    Jennifer

  9. Angel Says:

    Praying that she feels much better! I had that happened when taylor was a baby, his finger cut my contact and it caused scratches in my eye. NOT FUN! poor baby girl!

Leave a Reply

