FABULOUS Weekend Update

We had a FABULOUS weekend! Mostly because Rick and I had a date night on Friday night while the kids spent the night with Nonni and Pops! We met my dad and step-mom at Centennial Park for the kid hand-off. My girls were soooo excited to see Nonni and Pops. Here are a few pics at the park


Rick and I had a wonderful dinner at J. Alexanders. I love that restaurant. Especially because you get great service. We laughed as we realized that the reason we probably never get good service is because we eat at places where our bill is usually always less than $20 and we always have some sort of coupon. hahaha! The service was impeccable and our meals were delicious. We ate and talked and laughed and had so much fun. After dinner we went furniture shopping! Yippee! We stopped by the Sprintz Tent Sale – nothing there. Then went to Electronic Express in Green Hills where the nicest older gentleman waited on us. We were looking at refrigerators and washer/dryers. He was so honest and gave us good recommendations that we totally trusted. We didn’t buy anything, but walked out and both said to each other that we would buy just about anything from this man. That’s how great he was. They work off of commission at that store, but he told us not to worry about buying from him. He said he was very blessed and wanted the shopping experience to be best for us. . . so if it was easier to buy from the store in Rivergate that was no problem. Now that is someone looking for for my best interest and not his own.

On our way home we stopped by Haverty’s. For some reason we have never even been in that store before. We were looking for dining room furniture. The one thing I have looked for in a house is a dining room so that we could entertain and have company. We have a dining room (for the first time) in our new house. I am more excited about that room than anything else. I have even prayed about dining room furniture that will be comfortable so that people will linger at the table. . . the conversation around a table is priceless. My sweet husband has told me that he wants to be sure that I get dining room furniture, including a china cabinet. I have beautiful china that I received for wedding gifts some 10 years ago and we have NEVER used it. . . I mean, some of it is still in the Castner Knott boxes (that ages me) that it came it. Can you believe that? We have just never had a place for it. So, anyway. . . Rick really wants me to have a dining room suite. I have looked around a lot and just haven’t seen much that really fits me. Well, I found it at Haverty’s. We looked and looked some more and got some prices and left the store right before they closed. Rick was ready to buy it right then, but I told him we needed to talk about it, pray about it, and sleep on it before making that kind of decision. When we came home I sat down with a calculator and ran some numbers. He laughed cause he knew that was the first thing I was going to do.

We got a great night’s sleep and even slept in on Saturday b/c we had no kids to run wake us up as soon as the sun came up! We lounged around and then got ready and went to have breakfast at Cracker Barrel. We talked some more about the furniture and what other needs we had for the house. After breakfast (which took a while since our service wasn’t up to par, once again) we went to Lowe’s to look at appliances and then to the Sears Outlet. We had a funny experience at the Sears Outlet. . . the young kid who helped us was making recommendations and telling us what he had in his house. . . he was trying so hard to be and sound professional, but he couldn’t have been older than 18! We thanked him for his time decided to come back another day to find a black refrigerator.

And then we did it! We went to Haverty’s and ordered the furniture.  I was about to hyperventilate. I HATE to make decisions and I kept second guessing myself and wondering if we really should buy this. . . did I really like it. . . should we spend the money. . . do we need more important things first. . . Rick assured me that this was it. We wrote a check and it was done! I was almost tearful as we left. . . thinking of how selfless my husband is. . . how much he loves me and wanted so badly for me to have this dining room suite. . . how he wants a nice big plasma tv like everyone else has, but how he put my desires first. I just love my husband. He is SO incredibly wonderful. It wasn’t the furniture that made me want to cry. . . but Rick’s wanting me to have it. . . and the fact that we can welcome people into our home and share our lives with them over dinner at the table. Have you ever noticed in the Bible that some of the most intimate conversations Jesus had with others was while they were eating? “Breaking bread” as they often called it back then. I prayed last night for many opportunities to share life with others as we dine together!

Haverty’s was followed by Walmart. hahaha! And then my dad called and said they were coming to meet us with the girls. We met them at Creekside mid-afternoon so that they could see the progress of our house. The girls loved showing them all the rooms. Then we took the girls swimming and grabbed Subway for dinner. The girls went to bed a little early since they had such a busy day. We were so grateful that they were able to spend time with dad and Karen and that we had a great date night and morning! Rick and I watched “The Bucket List” which I really liked. Rick bailed out during the last 30 minutes. . . I watched til the end and cried. I love a movie like that.

Today was church, which was great. My sister, Katie, was in town for a Southern Living at Home Convention, and came by to see us after church. She went with us to see the house and to swim this afternoon. The girls love Aunt Kate. Here they are playing at the pool.

We all came home and the adults took a little nap while the girls watch a movie during rest time. Kate left to go home to East TN, and we made dinner. After dinner, Rick went out to ride is motorcycle while the girls rode the Barbie jeep around the apartment complex. Whoo hoo! It felt great outside tonight. Again, with no naps for the kids, I put them down a little early and they went right to sleep. Rick is home and we are all tucked in here at our apartment, ready to start another week. It has been a fabulous weekend. Rick and I enjoyed our time alone together and the girls loved getting to be with grandparents. We all enjoyed visiting with Kate. I do love weekends. And this one was no exception. Quality time cannot be measured. It is priceless. And I am grateful!


14 Responses to “FABULOUS Weekend Update”

  1. tracybrothers Says:

    Wow, what a great weekend! I am sooooo glad you got your dining room furniture! How exciting! I can’t wait to come and “break bread” with you! I am so happy for you. Only a few more weeks to go!

  2. Mandy LeMay Says:

    I am so glad you guys had a great weekend! And congrats on finding your dining room suit! I know how important that furniture was/is to you!! I am so happy you found ‘it’!
    I can’t believe how much your sis looks like your Mom! Aren’t sisters the best? I certainly don’t know what I would do without mine.
    Hope yal have a great week- we missed you at practice, but we’ll see yal soon!!
    Mandy

  3. jamieblackwell Says:

    Yea!!! You got furniture for your dining room. I am so excited for you and can’t wait to hear all about it. Sounds like you had a great weekend!

  4. jamieblackwell Says:

    Oh, Katie is your mom!!!

  5. Laura Says:

    This is just about the sweetest post ever!! I wanted to cry for you when you finally got your dining furniture. I know God is going to bless you in this “new” place called Home. You are an inspiration for many.

    Love you!

  6. Renee Garcia Says:

    What a great weekend!!! We love Centennial Park! You know, my grandma is called Nonnie too and I’ve found SO many out in the blog world! I always thought mine was one of a kind! 😉 Can’t wait to see your new furniture!

  7. Amy Smithson Says:

    Yes, ditto to what Jamie said-Katie is SO YOUR MOM!! ha!! What an awesome weekend-Date night w/hubby, no kiddos for a full night and you finally found “the” dining room furniture!!! And as Tracy expressed-I can’t wait to “break bread” in one of your new comfy chairs!! Love the pics!! Your girls are too cute!!

  8. heather34 Says:

    i didn’t even recognize katie, she looks great!! Too bad she was only in for a short visit. that brought back memories of the good ole days!! Love the pics of y’all at the park!

  9. Hope Chism Says:

    I am so happy that you got some furniture you like! I know that is a tough decision…we are in the same boat, trying to pick out some new stuff. I hope you will have us over to break bread in the new house!

  10. Jennifer Says:

    Hey,
    I know your Dad! I can’t remember his name but I’ve worked with him at the FCA leadership camps before. What a small world! I’m glad you guys are having a great summer! Congrats on the new house too!

  11. Amy Lafayette Says:

    Jennifer, My dad is Steve Robinson. He was worked for FCA for 35 years!! It is a small world. How did you find my blog?

  12. Jennifer Says:

    I’m really not sure! I think I must have saved it as a favorite off of money saving mom or organizing junkie, maybe for a recipe??? I don’t really remember. I just was going through the blogs I had saved and saw the picture of your Dad and thought it was so funny! I live in Clarksville and go to First Baptist Church with Jaime and Gary Rankhorn. That’s the FCA connection! Do you know them?

  13. Amy Lafayette Says:

    Jennifer,
    I only know of the Rankhorns thru FCA. I have met them, but don’t know them well myself. It is funny how you run into people. Glad you stopped to read my blog!! Do you have one yourself?

  14. Laura Benge Says:

    WHAT in the heck!!!!!!!!!! i was looking at the Sprintz furniture web site…hit some random google thing…and it took me to your BLOG…i have thought about you a million/bzillion times…i’m thinking this a God-thing…ok, lets catch up…i did teach a ton of swimming lessons this summer :)…how are you?..

    Laura

Leave a Reply

