Father’s Day Weekend Wrap Up

Well, we have had a busy weekend with lots of swimming! My kids are turning into fish and we are only half-way through June. I love it. Friday afternoon we had Addison a 5 1/2 Birthday Party at the pool at Creekside. Since her bday is in January, she never gets any kind of outdoor party. So this year she decided to hold off until summer for a pool party. I let her pick the menu and it was ice cream sandwiches and Popsicles (she did not want a cake), cheese balls, pretzels and gummy worms. YUM! Wait, yum for the kids – yuck for the moms! It was fun to let her decide what she wanted to have and then just go with it! Very much NOT like me. . . but so much fun. The bummer is that it was raining all morning and just as kids started to arrive it was thundering. . . which meant NO swimming. So, everyone was out of the water. . . it was pouring down rain. . . and the kids are eating the snacks within the first 15 minutes of the party. Not exactly how I had it planned, but what are you going to do? We then opened presents (just to keep everyone occupied) and then we waited. . . and waited. . . and waited. The thunder was NOT letting up! I gave the moms the freedom to go since we still had to wait 30 minutes after the last thunder before we could swim. Several went ahead and left (which I would have too) and so we got out the party favors, which were noodles for the pool. The kids loved them. Then there was an all out noodle fight and they were flying and slapping them around. . . yikes! What had we started. Moms started to intervene and the noodles were eventually put down. Around 2:30 we were allowed back in the pool. Addison had a blast with the few friends remaining. She didn’t let the rain, thunder or anything ruin her party. She had a ball! I wish in so many ways that I could be more childlike.

After an afternoon of junk food we decided to eat some more unhealthy stuff and went to Arbys for dinner (yes, I had a coupon)! The kids were exhausted and were in bed asleep by 8:10. Yippee! Of course it wasn’t too long after that we were asleep too.

Saturday was great because it was raining and yucky and we stayed in bed and laid around forever! We NEVER do that and I loved it. I was stunned as I flipped the channels to see that Tim Russert of NBC news had died on Friday of a heart attack. I felt like I knew this man. I loved to watch Meet the Press on Sundays before church (when it came on that early). That show was a great connection for me with my secret political interest. I was just so sad that he had died. And the tributes that people were paying were incredible. So, I was a little glued to the tv for a while on Saturday morning. Once I got up and moving, I left to go do two mystery shops. Just another way I try to bring a little cash into the household! We had a neighborhood party at Creekside at noon and it was such fun. Centex (the builders) bought pizza and drinks and rented a huge bouncy slide and of course there was the pool. Even though the weather was not pretty, it was decent and we didn’t even get rained on. I love these neighborhood gatherings because we just keep meeting more neighbors. It is so exciting to me that we will live in a great neighborhood with oodles of kids and families. Thank you Jesus! Oh, and speaking of our house. . . we have been given a tentative closing date of August 1st. Please pray that we get in by that date if not earlier!

We took home some of the leftover pizza for dinner, had bathtime and put everyone to bed early. Again, it took no time to get everyone to sleep. I sat down and flipped on the tv. . . and there was one of my favorite movies – The Notebook. I watched it and cried for 30 minutes. Why do I do that to myself? Oh, I just love it. Such a sweet story with a great ending. Then off to bed with puffy eyes and a stuffy nose from crying. Oh well.

Sunday was DadFest at church where we celebrated dads! It was great. Rick’s dad came with us to church and Rick was thrilled.  After church, Rick went for a long motorcycle ride.  Kinda part of his father’s day gift.  He loves to ride, and although it scares me to death, it’s one of his favorite things.  The girls and I had lunch and played and napped.  Then we all headed to Old Hickory to cookout with some family friends, the Baskins.  We swam and played and the girls had a great time.  Don and Bev grilled steaks (yummy) and we enjoyed dinner with the family.  The Baskins were like my 2nd family growing up.  I babysat for them every Saturday for two years in high school.  I went on vacation with them every year to the beach and continued to babysit for them through some of my time in college.  Now their kids are all grown up (24, 23 and the twins are 19).  I have lots of memories at their house and it was fun to be there again.  They love our kids just like I love theirs!

That pretty much sums up our weekend.  Lots of swimming, huh?  Let me take just a minute to say Happy Father’s Day to my dad.  He is such a wonderful dad.  He is handsome and godly and kind and loves me so well.  He prays for me daily and for my husband and for my kids.  He calls and leaves messages singing silly songs for my girls.  He is always so encouraging both to me and to Rick.  I love you dad.  Happy Father’s Day!  And I can’t say Happy Father’s Day without saying it to my sweet husband too!  Rick is an unbelievable daddy.  Addison and Ava Jane love him “to the moon and the stars and the sun and back” as they like to say.  I am blessed to have such a wonderful husband and father to my kids.  I love you, babe.

Til next time. . .

3 Responses to “Father’s Day Weekend Wrap Up”

  1. Julie Shaver Says:

    That sounds like a wonderful weekend! I am envious of your new neighborhood–don’t we all dream of that type of environment for our kids? I know I do.

    P.S. How can I get in on that secret shopping to earn some money? 🙂

  2. lafrost08 Says:

    Amy…I love your blog. There is always something new and funny…unlike mine. You remind me of my best friend in high school. She had the best sense of humor. I was always in pain from laughing with her. I enjoy your wit and sincerity. Keep up the good work.
    Laura

  3. Thankful for Organ Donors « Keepin’ It Real Says:

    […] mentioned the Baskins in a previous post. I have known them forever. I have known Bev (the mom) the longest. She was in my parents Sunday […]

Leave a Reply

