You Only Get White Rice To Eat!!

So, my youngest daughter has decided she never likes what I cook for dinner. Often she will say, “Eww, gross” or “Yuck mommy.” While it is not acceptable for her to make comments like that about, sending her away from the table seems to be a treat and not a consequence. I have decided that she will be eating plain white rice three meals a day for a while. You see, we have an “adopted sponsor child” through World Vision. Hawo is the little girl we sponsor monthly and she lives in a country deep in Africa. The main staple in her diet is white rice. The girls pray for Hawo daily and we often talk about what her life is like compared to the lives of my girls. They are really coming to understand that we have soooo incredibly much to be thankful for. Often when we sit down to eat, one of the girls will say, “Mom do you think Hawo would like to eat this hotdog and cheetos for lunch?” or “Does Hawo get brocoli and carrots for dinner?” Sadly we explain that Hawo usually eats plain white rice and that she would LOVE to get to eat some of the foods that we eat every day.

Today at the grocery store, Ava Jane picked up a bag of plain white rice and asked if that is what Hawo eats. I couldn’t believe that she was actually getting it! So tonight when I sat her plate on the table and she furrowed her brow and said, “eewww, groooossss” I informed her that if she does not begin to eat her dinner she will be eating plain white rice for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Maybe then she will be grateful for the food she eats. Will it work? I would love to know what you think. . .

12 Responses to “You Only Get White Rice To Eat!!”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Sounds like a great idea to me!

  2. Susan Says:

    Sounds like a great idea to me too. I may borrow this to use with my boys.

  3. Mandy LeMay Says:

    This is great! This had me laughing out loud! Levi is doing the same thing to me lately on some things when dinner rolls around. He would actually be fine with it though- because he looooves rice! It would get old for every meal though- we are so lucky to live in this country where we take way too much for granted! Love your lesson- let us know if it is learned.

  4. saundra1 Says:

    Wow! You are a good mom!

  5. schellfamily Says:

    Sounds like a great plan!

  6. stephanij Says:

    Sounds like a great idea!

  7. Laura Says:

    Much kuddos sister! That’s really putting some thought into it.

  8. Angela Says:

    I say go for it! Not only do I think this will work, I think this is a great way to reinforce what you are doing for someone else who is less fortunate. Awesome teachable moment!

  9. tracybro Says:

    I cannot wait to see how this goes. I also recommend letting them help with dinner in any possible way. Somehow, when Annie helps, she’ll eat whatever it is because she thinks she made it, even if all she did was pour a can into the pan. Also, sometimes I say, “No, that’s … you like it.” And she’ll say, “Oh okay.” I think it’s a great idea. Read these comments on what a great mom you are when she’s crying because she doesn’t want the rice and you’re about to cave. Good for you!

  10. montee Says:

    One time during baseball season about 12 years ago, we were in Iowa. Usually during baseball season we eat at the coffee table with the TV on. I know this is not good but we usually rent furniture for the apartment we are in without a dining room set. At home, we sit at the table for meals. Anyway, my two were complaining about what we were having for supper. It just so happened, I had been clicking through the channels earlier and had seen a show about people starving in Africa. I found that channel again and made Britnee and Brett watch starving African children. Yep, it worked because they ate their supper with no more complaining.

  11. jamieblackwell Says:

    Seriously?? I can NOT wait to see how this goes. One bowl of rice for breakfast and it’s all OVER!!

  12. Amy Lafayette Says:

    Well, we haven’t had to do rice yet. . . of course Friday night we ate Arbys for dinner, Saturday night was pizza and Sunday night was dinner with friends (steak, hashbrown casserole, green beans and deviled eggs). When she didn’t want to eat any of her steak, Ashley (whose house we were at) asked her if she wanted to eat white rice and she promptly picked up two big bites of steak and ate them without complaining. I guess the threat of it is working for now. We’ll see how it goes for the next two nights at home with mommy cooking again. Great feedback from everyone! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

