Aaahhh! The Weekend

It is officially summer if you look at the thermometer and not the calender.  We have had continuous 90 degree days and it is HOT!  Thank heavens for the swimming pool.  We had a busy week at Vacation Bible School.  it was great and the girls LOVED it!  They were sad when it was over on Thursday.  Here is a picture of them as we left for VBS on Monday.

Our weekend started at home. . . no dinner out on Friday night.  We had an afternoon birthday party and the girls were wiped out.  We rested and then took a quick trip to Walmart before coming home and having a big salad for dinner.  Nice and refreshing.  Bedtime was early on Friday night, as we went without naps all week due to VBS.

The kids slept until 7:20 on Saturday morning which is as late as we have all slept in a long time.  We had a fun family day.  We went to swim at Creekside and were the only ones there!!  I can’t believe with such a great pool that we were it.  Two other families came by noon. . . but that was it!  It’s fun to have a whole big pool to yourself. . . but the kids would MUCH rather have lots of kids to play with.  We did see our new next door neighbors there.  Kennedy is Ava Jane’s age and I think they will make perfect little playmates.  It has been fun to watch them play together already.  Here are the girls at the pool. . .

We ate lunch at the pool and then zipped over to the house to see the builders hanging drywall!  Whoo-hoo!  We are finally seeing the finish line.  We couldn’t go in and look b/c they were working, but we could see walls hanging and it was glorious.  We came home and everyone napped.  Mine was a short nap so that I could run a few errands too.  We went to Rick’s parents on Saturday night for a cookout to celebrate Rick’s birthday (which is on Tuesday).  What we didn’t know is that the cookout was going to be by the creek. . . I had the girls in some little cool dresses and flip flops and I had on capris and flip flops. . . not exactly creek clothing.  And we had no bug spray. . . but despite the insane hot and insane bugs. . . it was lots of fun.  We finally decided to go back up to the house for a delicious Maggie Moo’s ice cream birthday cake.  YUM!  It was getting dark when we left, but we decided to stop back by the house for a quick peek at the walls.  It was almost completely dark when we got there, but we managed to go through each room – and they all looked like rooms now.  The girls were excited to see their own rooms and a playroom.  Hopefully we will be moved in the end of July.  We all had to shower again after the cookout b/c we were filthy and bug eaten.  With such a busy day, everyone slept well on Saturday night!

Sunday was church.  Spiderman and his cronies were blasting webs in the 3 year old sunday school class again today.  But Rick and I got it under control relatively fast.  🙂  The message during the service was a good reminder that God is in control and I am not.  And that faith is what gets us through the toughest situations in life.  This past year has been a big ole faith test for me.  I haven’t had any catastrophic events in my personal life. . . but they have happened all around me and to people that I care about.  I have had to tell God time and again that I do trust him and that He knows what is best even when it doesn’t make sense to us.  The greatest part of this “faith testing” season that I have been in. . . is that I have grown so much closer to God.  That IS what it is all about.  I really want to write a big huge post about all that God has taught me in the past year. . . but it may be more like a book than a blog post. . . but I am working on it.

Anyway. . . after church we went to eat at Salsarita’s because 1) we had no food at home and 2) it was the only coupon in my purse.  We made a couple of quick stops after lunch and it was almost 2:30 before we made it home.  So, we opted for “rest time” watching a princess movie.  We celebrated a friend’s 4th birthday at Fairvue.  My kids love to swim there, but Creekside is coming in as the family favorite this summer.  The girls had a great time.  I got to visit with friends I don’t often see and hang out with, which I loved!  My girlfriend, Shannon, takes pictures and I was picking her brain about pics of my girls this summer.  I would love to have a beautiful picture of them for the house.  With a little more sun and some cute matching outfits, we will be ready! Addison decided to melt down as we were leaving, which is always fun when you are the guest at someone’s country club and birthday party, both!  Nice.  Ava Jane is now melting down at home because her pajamas are not dry enough to put on. . .they just got washed earlier today.  So, it is obvious that my kids are exhausted.  Tomorrow is the “official” start to our summer here at home.  I have a little schedule that I have devised for our days so that we don’t all go nuts.  But I have some more planning to do before tomorrow gets here.  Better run for now. . .

5 Responses to “Aaahhh! The Weekend”

  1. Renee Garcia Says:

    Sounds like a fun weekend! 🙂 The girls are so cute with their matching pig tails and bows! 🙂

  2. Ashley Says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. I am so envious of that Creekside pool!

  3. Susan Says:

    Fun weekend!! I’m so excited that you are seeing the end in sight and your house building is nearing the finish line!! I’m with Ashley- we went to look at the models in Creekside a while back and we were all just lovin’ the pool!!!

  4. Nunas Says:

    Seriously Ame, do they really where bows in the pool? I thought I was doing well getting them in their hair for church. The pool looks great and I’m so excited about your new house. Look forward to seeing you in it. Talk to you soon. Miss you and love you.

  5. Amy Lafayette Says:

    Ahhh – the bows! Let me explain. . . first, Addison’s bow doesn’t match b/c she had on a different outfit BEFORE the bathing suit. . . second, I put bows in their hair not only because they are cute, BUT because it helps me always know where they are in the water. You know that panicked feeling you get when you don’t see your child anywhere in the water. . . well, I found a way to get rid of that panic and it is by having the girls wear bows!! I can ALWAYS see them – they stand out from the others. 🙂

Leave a Reply

