2nd Weekend Wrap-Up

I know that Friday is a weekday, but the girls and I had the best time that I have to share. On Friday we went on a MOPS playdate to Honeysuckle Hill Farm. It was about 45 minutes away. Gratefully, we rode with a friend which made the time fly by. The girls had a blast at the farm. We went on a tractor ride – well, we were pulled behind a tractor, around the farm. We got to see some animals in the petting area like baby cows, rabbits, goats, and a few others that I can’t remember. The girls got to “milk” a fake cow. It was really cool. It is just a wooden cow but with these neat udders that really have water in them. So, you are really milking into a bucket. We also found out some interesting info on cows. . . one cow can give you 10 gallons of milk a day. It takes about 320 squirts from the udders to make a gallon of milk. Slit my wrists. I would not like someone squeezing my teets 3200 times a day (that is 320 times the 10 gallons from one cow)! Of course, I am not a cow. . . at least not the black and white spotted kind that live on a farm. hahaha! We had a picnic lunch and the girls and all the other kids played and played and played. . .neat slide, fun swings and great sand pit (which my girlie girls spent the most time in). Addison also was able to smother herself in a haystack – I mean, playing in the hay, jumping off of it, throwing it, etc. By the time we got home, her poor body looked like she had rubbed it all over her. She had scratches EVERYWHERE!! Yikes. So, she has been itching all weekend and now has a terrible rash – we won’t be playing in hay ever again. Can you say ALLERGIES??

On to Friday night. . . the girls went to the grandparents. . . Rick and I went to a little gathering of “new neighbors” that are already living in the neighborhood where we will be moving this summer. (Oh, and our house FINALLY had the foundation poured. . . so we are ready to rock and roll and get on with the building!) We had such a good time getting to know some of the couples that will soon be our neighbors. It is going to be a great neighborhood with lots of families and full of kids. That is soooo what we have been wanting for our girls to grow up around!

Saturday – I was excited because I knew that no kids would be coming in at 6 a.m. and waking me up. . .but there I was at 6:15 – wide awake! Habit, I guess. Saturday morning the girls came home early and we just piddled around. After lunch, my sister, Katie and her hubby, Taylor, came for a visit. They had been in town for the Mercy Ministries 25th Anniversary celebration! The girls loved seeing Aunt Kate and Uncle Taylor. Aunt Kate played with them non-stop. They LOVED it! They left before dinner and the four of us headed to Saylors for a yummy pizza dinner. On the way home, I wanted to go by McD’s and rent a movie from the redbox. The line was insane. I waited for 20 minutes!!! Rick was in the car with the girls and ready to snap when I got back to the car. Ooopps. Sorry, honey. We came home and the girls got a bath and went to bed early at 7:30 (b/c they had no naps). Rick retreated to the bedroom to watch tv, while I watched my redbox flick, August Rush. I really liked it. I didn’t know much about it. But it was a great movie – probably because I LOVE LOVE LOVE music so much. It was over by 9:30, and I headed to bed shortly thereafter. So, early night for all of us!

Today we went to the 8:00 service and had a guest speaker, Tony Nolan. He did a fantastic job presenting the gospel and there were quite a few people in our service who accepted Jesus! Whoo-hoo! Church was followed by our 3 year old class again. They really are precious. We played with playdough and talked about how God created the animals. We made lots of fun animal sounds together. On the way home from church, we stopped by the grocery for as much as I could remember from my list for the week. I was grateful to go then, rather than during nap time. Lunch was leftover pizza and then Rick went out for a motorcycle ride. It was a beautiful day for riding. The girls went onto our patio – well – if you can really call it that. It is maybe 6 feet long and 3 feet wide and it has a barbie jeep, two bicycles and two scooters out there, so there is hardly a place to stand. But they had a blast and pretended they were going to Disneyworld in the Barbie Jeep. It was so cute to listen to them as they made a “roadtrip” to Florida together. Naptime was just that – a nap for all the girls (me included). We made a Target run later in the afternoon for a few things and just to get out of the house once again.

We just finished dinner and bathtime and now we are going to watch the Bee Movie. Ava Jane bought it today at Target with her birthday money. She wants the family to watch it together. So, we are going to finish out our weekend with some great family time watching a movie! I’m sure we’ll squeeze in time for laughing and wrestling on the floor. That always happens when we are all together before bedtime. Such sweet times. I hope your weekend was great too.

One Response to “2nd Weekend Wrap-Up”

  1. Tracy Bro Says:

    Sounds like a great weekend. I’ve got some video from Honeysuckle Hill of Addison. I’ll try and email it to you.

Leave a Reply

