Persevering

What are you doing with God’s word?   Luke 8:11, 13-15 says,      “. . . the seed is the word of God. . . Those on the rock are the ones who receive the word with joy when they hear it, but they have no root.  They believe for a while but in the time of testing they fall away.  The seed that fell among the thorns stands for those who hear, but as they go on their way they are choked by life’s worries, riches and pleasures, and they do not mature.  But the seed on good soil stands for those with a noble and good heart, who hear the word, retain it, and by persevering produce a crop.” 

Is God producing a “crop” in you?  I sure want him to produce a bountiful crop in my life.  Have you received God’s word with joy and then fallen away during a difficult time?  Or have you choked out God’s word by being so caught up in the things of the world, riches and pleasures?  Or are you persevering?  You have heard God’s word and you retain it and you are persevering. . . . knowing that God will produce a crop.  

per·se·vere  (pûrs-vîrintr.v. per·se·vered, per·se·ver·ing, per·se·veres

To persist in or remain constant to a purpose, idea, or task in the face of obstacles or discouragement.
Persevering is not easy.  I often want to give up when things get too hard.  Sometimes it is easier to worry about something rather than just give it to God.  And sometimes I hold on to the things that are important to ME, thus choking out God’s word.  I have been in a hard place with some things lately.  And I have been on my knees praying and persisting in the face of obstacles and discouragement.  I know that God is working to produce something in and thru me.  Galatians 6:9 says, “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” 
One Response to “Persevering”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Hi there!
    You have no idea who I am, but I just attended a conference yesterday at my church and had the pleasure of hearing Marie Tittle speak… have my own blog over at blogspot.com and was seeing if she had a site I could refer people to from mine… However… long story short – Googled her. Found you. Have SO enjoyed reading your posts! (Hope you don’t mind!) Can relate to SO many of your thoughts and feelings, especially on your “God’s Goodness” post. Got to this one and had to chuckle… when I saw that you had the definition of “persevere” on there. I thought I was the only one who LOVES to look words up in the ‘ole dictionary, but you make the 3rd blogger to date so far that loves the meaning of words, too!
    Anyway, keep up the great blog!

    ~jessica

Leave a Reply

