God’s Goodness

This summer I did a Bible Study that taught me a lot about how God speaks to me.  I began to pray that God would speak to me about some very specific things going on in my life.  One Saturday I had a very specific request that I needed an answer for pretty quickly.  And I prayed that God would give me scripture to pray and meditate on.  The scripture he gave me that day was Psalm 27:13-14, “I am still confident of this. . . I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living.  Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.”  And isn’t it just so God that the very scripture he gave me to pray, contained the answer to the request I had.  The answer was to WAIT.  Oh, is that ever hard for me to do.  On that Saturday I wrote down that scripture on an index card and put in on the dashboard of my car.  It is still there and I still look at the scripture and pray it back to God. 

 Today in my Bible Study, that scripture came up again and I was reminded of the importance of waiting for God and his timing for things in my life.  For me over the past five months, waiting for God has meant spending lots of time on my knees and on my face before God.  Pouring out my heart and soul to him with a number of things.  I don’t know what you are facing today, but I do know that God tells us in his word to “be CONFIDENT of this. . . we WILL see the GOODNESS of the Lord. . . ”  God is good all the time.  All the time, God is good.  Are you confident that you will see God’s goodness in your life?  I’d love to hear what good and great things God is doing in your life.  

4 Responses to “God’s Goodness”

  1. Marie Tittle Says:

    Hey Amy, iIam already enjoying reading your blog! I so remember God giving me that exact same verse as I waited on a husband and trying to get pregnant. It has pushed me to wait well many of times. I often say we all have to wait but few wait “well.” What does that really look like?

    Ironically, I have taught on that and it still is so hard to live out.

    As for what God is doing in my life….well, do you have a pot of coffee brewing for this??:)
    I was reading the other day that , “a normal life is a wasted life!” It hit me really hard and made me realize that i had been so selfish lately with my time. In the past my time has NOT been something that was hard to be generous with but after having Suzette when ever I have a down moment I surely do not want to use it wisely. I want to rest, clean..etc.

    But, Scott and I both have had a renewed vision of wanting to finish well and truly keeping eternity in mind. The Lord just kept bringing people to me who either wanted to be in a bible study or wanted someone to mentor them. I really didnt want to deal with it and felt so worn out. (This goes back to my time issue) But, I realized that the Lord was literally bringing these people to my doorstep and and they were hungry.

    SO, I tol him I woul start moving toward these opportunities and see what happend. The thing that has suprisedme the most is that Kelly Kimberlina dn I have started a study and 6 of the 8 girls that are coming are non- believers. It has been such a joy and breathed so much life into me. I just had to surrender my time. Anyway, I would elaborate more but Suzette has been whining the whole time I have been writing and I need to run! TIME is short!:)
    Lots of Love Amy and I so look foward to gleaning from your wisdom!
    XO,
    Marie

  2. Ashley Smith Says:

    I tried to post a comment yesterday but it didn’t work. We’ll see if this one does…I’m so glad you decided to join the blog world! Can I have one of those tamales??? Yummy! 🙂

  3. Shannon Kirkham Says:

    Hey Red,

    Just wanted you to know that I think what you doing is great and I am looking forward to keeping up with you through your blogs. I know we never get to see each other but I think of you often and you are very close to my heart. Afterall being one of the raindrops is a lifelong committment, even though you are the only one I get to keep up with. Take care and know your words are an engouragement to me and to all who reads them. I love you Red…Nan

  4. Karen Robinson Says:

    Re being still, I read this in my QT on Feb 5th. From Streams in the Desert by LB Cowman. “You may be sure that God will never say to us, “Stand still”, “Sit still”, or “Be Still”, unless He is going to do something. This is our problem regarding the Christian life: we want to do something to be Christians, instead of allowing Him to work in us.

    Blessings,
    Karen

Leave a Reply

