Scripture for New House

I have something I need help with. We want to go through our new house and put some scripture over the different rooms on the framing of the walls before they drywall. I have several scriptures that I have come up with that have special meaning to us or that we just like. But I need some help thinking of more scripture. . . any suggestions for scripture? Here is some of what I have:

Laundry Room – Phil. 2:14 “Do everything without arguing and complaining.”

Over the front door as you walk out – Numbers 6:24-26 “The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.”

Office – Colosians 3:23 “Whatever you do, do it with all your heart, as working for the Lord and not for man.”

Living Room or Dining Room – Psalm 34:3 “Glorify the Lord with me; let us exalt his name together.”

Other scripture. . . don’t know exactly where it will go. . .

Psalm 127:1 “Unless the Lord builds the house, its builders labor in vain.

Joshua 24:15 “As for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

What other suggestions do you have?

12 Responses to “Scripture for New House”

  1. Christy Butler Says:

    My favorite right now is Zeph. 3:17
    “The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delght in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

  2. Julie Shaver Says:

    I like Psalm 91:11 for the girl’s rooms: “For He will give his angels orders concerning you, to protect you in all your ways.”

  3. Amy Lafayette Says:

    Oh, I love both of those. Thanks for sharing. Keep ‘em coming!

  4. antonia Says:

    Great idea…probably the verse you got it from anyway…but still good to have anywhere in your house…

    Deuteronomy 11:18,19
    Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

    And for a bedroom

    Psalm 4:8
    I will lie down and sleep in peace,
    for you alone, O LORD,
    make me dwell in safety.

  5. Tracy Bro Says:

    Amy, Here are some of the verses Jeff wrote around our house. At least, what he could remember. (You can thank him for looking them up again.)

    Fireplace – Hebrews 12:28-29
    Front Door – deut. 6:6,9
    Master Bedroom – Prov. 31:10-12, Ps. 4:8
    Hall Door – Prov. 3:33
    Bonus Room – Isaiah 32:18
    Girls’ Room – Ps. 91:11-12
    Pantry – Ps. 111:5

    Our neighbors had a whole group of friends meet at their house and help write scriptures around. Might be fun!

  6. Tracy Bro Says:

    Also, he said in the garage he wrote verses about protection on a journey.

  7. Saundra Says:

    My neighbor has Hebrews 13:2 painted in her kitchen on the bulkhead above the cabinets. It looks great.

    Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it. (NIV)

    What a great idea for your new house. I know you must be getting excited. We have done apartment life twice, with only 1 kid and a dog. I can only imagine what it must be like with 2 kids :)

  8. Amy Lafayette Says:

    I love all of these. We went last night and wrote some of the ones that we had already picked out. We plan to go back this weekend to finish covering the house in scripture. It felt so good as we did it – just knowing that from the beginning our house is being covered, not only in prayer, but with the power of God’s word! Thanks for sharing. I’d love to hear more from others. You can’t have too much scripture!

  9. Leslie Says:

    How about for anywhere in the house

    Proverbs 3:5-6
    “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make straight your path”

  10. April Powell Says:

    Ladies, thank you so much for all your insight. I am about to be remarried to a wonderful man who is in love with our Lord. We are writing scriptures over the door and I am looking for some that pertain to boys. We have three boys and two girls. What would you recommend?

  11. titus2woman Says:

    I know I’m late to the party, but I love Psalm 45:13 in the girls’ room: The king’s daughter is all glorious within… Y’all have blessed me soooo much! :)

  12. melanie Says:

    what a sweet page of ideas I am blessed by all these.

    we have made our kitchen rockabilly country and my husband took an old peace of picket fence and distressed it and we are putting mathew 7:13-14
    ‘You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.

    I know its a lil deep but truth is truth!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

